top of page

Territory Acknowledgement 

Our Co-Founders and Fellows live and work on the traditional territories of the W̱SÁNEĆ and Lkwungen-speaking peoples, the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot Confederacy of the Siksika, Kainai, Piikani peoples), the Tsuut’ina, the Îyâxe Nakoda Nations, Nehiyaw (Cree), Denesuliné (Dene), Nakota Sioux (Stoney), Anishinaabe (Saulteaux) and the Métis Nation, the Haldimand Tract, land that was granted to the Haudenosaunee of the Six Nations of the Grand River, and are within the territory of the Neutral, Anishinaabe, and Haudenosaunee peoples, and the traditional homelands of the Nuwuvi and Southern Paiute People.

 We acknowledge the land we are meeting on is the traditional territory of many nations, and we acknowledge that the historical and current acts of colonization by Canada and America have made many inequities for Indigenous, Native American, First Nations, Inuit and Métis people. We recognize that we have a responsibility to work towards truth and reconciliation, to remain open to collaboration and engagement with local Indigenous communities. We are grateful to be able to live, learn and work on these lands.

bottom of page